Poem of Jerusalem

28 Nov

I wrote this poem during a musical fireside.

Lord, I am living in the land where you once lived.
—I am standing where you stood;
I am wandering the paths you walked,
Though I cannot hear your voice teaching on the temple mount,
I can hear the testimonies of your pupils.
I cannot feel you in these erected holy places,
But I feel you in sweet hymns that lullaby my heart.
I cannot see you in the icons of lavish churches,
But I see you in the faces that surround me.
I cannot touch your pierced hands and feet now,
But your mercy touches and pierces my soul.
I will not taste the slightest of thy burdens
But you have tasted the bitterness of mine.
I cannot comprehend your tender mercies,
But I know you comprehend the paths I’ll walk.
I cannot forget you, not here, or anywhere.

One Response to “Poem of Jerusalem”

  1. Ralph December 1, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Dear Jordan, without fail every time I read your blog, I come away awash in tears! Your poem captures and reminds me of my own feelings, experiences, and memories of the Holy Land and of the sentiments indelibly etched upon my soul about my Savior. Love, Ralph

Leave a comment